top of page

Exhibition: Presented by Riverside Fine Arts Association & St. Vincent's Hospital

Last night, the Riverside Fine Arts Association presented the Rad Trads in the first concert of the 2016-17 series with moi as the featured artist. It was exciting to present myself as "a local artist."

I belong to this community! I moved into the Murray Hill area of Jacksonville in 2005. I was attracted to this community because it seemed to care about just that...community, In 2008, I began working for a locally owned business located not far from my home. This allowed my life to become more simplified and has allowed me to devote more time to painting.

Rhapsody 60 x 36 inches

This painting, titled Rhapsody, is one of my more recent works. A rhapsody is defined as:

a piece of music that is meant to express a lot of emotion and does not have a regular form

and

a written or spoken expression of great enthusiasm.

In this painting, I convey to you “a painted expression of great enthusiasm." I listened to African drumming music while I painted Rhapsody . I worked with 15 different colors simultaneously. No brushes were used to create this painting. Rather than using brushes, I developed a technique of pushing and pulling the paint with palette knives to accomplish this energetic piece.

Rhapsody was presented last night in Craig Hall at the Church of the Good Shepherd before and after the concert. It was one of the favorites of the evening! Thanks to all who came out to support this event! The Rad Trads were AWESOME!!!

Follow Me
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page