top of page

Defining Moment: I Think I Can!


Everyone has a measure of creativity in them, and every work of art has a story. For me, it was a long journey from the inception of, “I think I can paint” to picking up the brush and pallet knives and doing it.

In 2001 I began visiting events in my community of Jacksonville. I attended art shows in San Marco, Riverside, Mandarin and Ponte Vedra. There I would see artists’ creations and purchase works that inspired me, including some abstract paintings. I really enjoyed the style of Jonas Gerrard, who was based in Miami during that time. In the back of my mind I would tell myself, ”I think I can paint!”

I became extremely interested in the many forms of art, including pottery, glass blowing, mosaic, sculpture, dance and music. Many in my family are talented musicians and I enjoyed attending concerts and the symphony. But the painting always seemed to be calling me.

This exploration of art led me to travel. I visited galleries in Savannah, Asheville, Charleston and Atlanta. I centered my vacations around these areas and focused on art (and food!). These gallery visits added a few pieces to my collection and inspired me even more. I still said to myself, “I think I can paint!”

Galleries led to vacations in New York and San Francisco, where I got into the museums. I saw Jackson Pollack paintings! By now I was telling my closest family members, ”I think I can paint!”

The accountability started. Isn’t it great to be loved?! Family bought me brushes and kits and paints to gently nudge me along. I even received a drawing class as a gift, which I really enjoyed. For years though, I did nothing. But I kept saying, “I think I can paint.”

Finally in 2011, I said to myself, “Go big or go home.” I went to the art store, bought a 40x40 canvas and drove it home in my 2003 Mini Cooper with my knees on the dash. I drove over the Fuller Warren Bridge. I got the large canvas out of the Mini and carried it upstairs to what I now call my home studio. And I painted. Finally I said, “Well, look at that! I CAN paint!” I have been painting ever since.

That is the story of how I found my voice and my creativity. To express myself through oil painting required taking a risk, giving up perfection and not caring about what people think. I had to become vulnerable. The result is beyond what I could even imagine, and now there is no turning back.

Follow Me
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page