top of page

A Painter and a Quilter Walk Into QuiltCon


When you live with a modern quilter, it’s a given…you are going to QuiltCon—a yearly national event put on by the Modern Quilt Guild. QuiltCon is the largest modern quilting show of its kind, and 2019 took us to Nashville, Tennessee. What in the world does an abstract oil painter do at a quilt show besides show support for her quilter?

It was cold and rainy in Nashville, but my curiosity overrode my plans to ride out the inclement weather at the hotel. While my quilter, Ann Ouellette, attended classes during the day, I set out on my own, equipped with a rain jacket, umbrella and hat. At the convention center, I tucked away my jacket and umbrella, but left my hat on my head.

I found myself surrounded by color and fabulous works of art. The quilters were a mighty raging river of creative energy.

It was not long until I realized the magic of my hat among the tide of quilters. My hat happens to be a XOB (pronounced zob), which is made out of repurposed sweaters. Gaping eyes and wide smiles stopped to engage me in conversation. It was like crack to an artist who works with fiber.

"That hat is awesome! Did you make your hat? I love it!" My twisted sense of humor went to the movie Sordid Lives where Brother Boy asks his female therapist with enthusiasm: ”Where DID you get that red bra?”

When quilters asked if I had a quilt in the show, I had to expose my identity as a painter, which lead to more stories. I handed out some business cards and marveled at the quilters’ buttons sporting images of the quilts they had designed. I had many of those buttons pinned to myself by the last day of the show, and I must say I wore them with pride. I enjoyed my interactions with those folks.

I had so many inquiries that first day about my XOB that I decided to wear it the entire four days of QuiltCon. Now not only do I live with a talented quilter, I also have new quilter friends and have connected with them on social media, all thanks to QuiltCon and a hat!

Follow Me
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page