top of page

Season Finale: A Year Well Spent

As the Civic Orchestra of Jacksonville season comes to a close, so does my time as Artist in Residence. The past year has given me great memories, new relationships, and the opportunity to develop new skills as an artist. I appreciate all the Civic Orchestra has done to promote my art side by side with their amazing performances!

My goal was to connect music and visual art by interpreting the orchestra’s music onto canvas. The experience has challenged me and allowed me to grow tremendously as an artist. I also had the privilege of teaching the connection between music and art in the public elementary schools of Jacksonville. To see the students’ expressions as they painted to music was remarkably rewarding. It was an honor to display their work alongside mine at the final concert!

Thank you to everyone who attended the concerts. Thank you to those who supported me and the orchestra by purchasing my paintings. It has been a pleasure to donate a portion of those sales back to the orchestra in honor of my mother, Wilma Watson, who was a talented musician. And finally, thank you to friends and family who continue to encourage me to pursue an “off the beaten path” life and keep cheering me on to the next endeavor.

It is hard work and at the same time so fulfilling to tap into my musically-inspired creativity! I have discovered the universal language of the arts and how it brings people together. For that I am grateful!

Follow Me
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page