top of page

Leaning In to What’s Next


It’s no secret that my life took a decisive change at the beginning of 2017. I resigned from working in retail management to further develop my art skills and work as an intern at Down to Earth Farm. After serving as Artist in Residence for the Civic Orchestra of Jacksonville and completing my year-long internship at the farm, I spent this past summer traveling, visiting family and friends.

When my kids were in grade school we traveled and played the entire summer season. It’s been a long time since I was afforded so much playtime outdoors! During my travels, I explored the forests, streams, and lakes of New York. Mosses and lichens caught my attention, and I picked up a couple of books to learn more.

My summer also included art. My niece and her partner, both ceramicists in Huntingdon, PA, gave me the grand tour of their studio and kilns, and I was fortunate to acquire a few of their lovely works. In Oberlin, OH, I dove into an inspiring modern quilt display of more than 40 quilts with amazing colors, textures and patterns. And last but not least, I visited three art museums in New York City: The MET, Neue Gallery, and The Frick! My trip nourished what I enjoy most.

As I lean into what’s next, I am still being enlightened on my circling, creative path. I’ve been putting my knowledge of plants to work by providing garden consulting services and care, and I continue to paint.

My most recent work is titled “Oblivion”(24 x36). The musical inspiration comes from "Oblivion" by Astor Piazzolla, arranged by Grammy Award winning cellist Sara Sant’Ambrogio. She played in Jacksonville’s Friday Musicale 2017-2018 season, and her performance made an indelible impression on me as I listened.

The deep open notes of her cello translate into slowly melting color. Enjoy!

Follow Me
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page