top of page

Circular Life


The kitchen is a place where my art-inspired life comes full circle. I often set a group of colors in my memory as I spend time in the garden or at the farm. The same thing happens in the kitchen! All those freshly harvested vegetables have to be prepared and eaten. Some vegetables are tasty and beautiful simply cut up and served. Others become more palatable and vibrant in color with preparation, which in most cases involves applying heat by roasting in the oven or setting a flame to the bottom of a pot or pan.

I recently harvested some spectacular daikon radishes from my garden. I paired them with Napa cabbages grown at Down to Earth Farm. I chose to use a fermenting process to make a batch of kimchi. The pale cabbage leaves became richer shades of green as they marinated for over eight hours in a salty brine. Next I added the rest of the ingredients, including red pepper seasoning. Once the kimchi was set to ferment in a gallon jar, rich reds and oranges intermingled with vibrant greens.

For several days I watched the colors change and develop, and enjoyed seeing bubbles dance from the bottom to the top of the jar. Along with the changing colors, the flavors deepened as well and my mouth watered at the thought of the first taste. My kimchi turned out to be the best batch ever! In so many ways, I am enlightened by my circling path… garden, farm, kitchen, art studio…and repeat!

Follow Me
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page