top of page

Before and After: A Year of Growth, Renewal, and New Life

The end of my time as Artist-in-Residence for the Civic Orchestra of Jacksonville coincides with another ending. My internship at Down to Earth Farm has come to a close. The farm is yet another experience that has impacted my life for the better over the past year.

I am stronger and healthier! Working on a farm is physically demanding, and at the beginning, honestly, I had to push my way through each eight to nine hour day. I learned to listen to my body and vary positions to prevent injuries while doing repetitive tasks like planting, harvesting, shoveling, and raking. My work days became easier as time progressed, and I now feel the best I have felt in a long time.

Farming goes on “no matter what,” so I learned to work in all kinds of weather. The weather was often beautiful, but there were also very hot, sunny days with over 100 degree temperatures. Those days, my head was covered with a wide brimmed hat and my arms in thin long sleeves to protect my body from the sun. Clothes dripping with sweat was the attire of the day!

There were also days that flirted with freezing temperatures (dubbed “fuzzy hat days”). I wore long johns and multiple layers of sweatshirts and socks as we urgently covered the crops to protect them from the coming freeze. And who could forget the rainy season, wading through mud, being eaten alive by mosquitos while digging trenches to drain flooding fields? The uncomfortable days were fewer than the lovely days, but being filthy dirty was inevitable. I enjoyed a much-coveted shower at the end of every day.

In the past year I’ve made a conscious effort to practice mindfulness. I have always felt a sense of pride in my ability to multitask. I was a retail manager and spun a lot of plates during ten or twelve hour days for almost 24 years. So rather than my normal “get this done in record time and move on to the next thing” attitude—whether I was working at the farm or painting in my studio—I was able to focus on the task at hand and be fully engaged in what I was doing. This new way of doing things has spilled over to many simple tasks like doing the dishes and cooking.

When I started my farm gig, I was emotionally drained and almost numb. I really didn’t like people very much. The constant tug of war dealing with employees, owners, and customers had taken its toll, but I dug my hands deep into the soil and sucked in a lot of fresh air. I learned to grow plants and in turn, I began to feel alive! Being surrounded by the sights and sounds of nature had a marvelous healing effect, and I began to have fewer and fewer negative thoughts as my attitude was transformed.

I so enjoyed working with the team at the farm. We became this season’s “ farmily” (farm family)! We shared stories, music, and meals. We learned together. We encouraged one another and laughed a lot. I could go on about how my vegetable garden at home is flourishing better than

ever from all I have learned from Farmer Brian, or how I have added flower growing to my gardening skills. I could talk about the party after my last day that included homemade pizza, blueberry blast muffins,a lot of dancing, and a bit of gin with homemade tonic…but the photos say it all.

The first selfie is from my first day at the farm in February 2017, and the last selfie was taken this past week. (May 2018) The result of my choice to follow a path of creativity is written all over my face! I am so grateful to have had such a life-changing experience.

First Day of Internship - February 2017

Last Day of Internship - May 2018

Follow Me
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page