top of page

Exploring Technique


Nightfall in St. Cloud (above) by German artist Gabriele Munter was painted in 1906. It was part of an installation French Moderns: Monet to Matisse, 1850-1950 at the Cummer Museum this past summer. When I read the exhibit label I saw that the artist’s technique was described as “overlapping wet-on-wet strokes.” I decided to try it myself based on my observation. I later returned to the Cummer after painting Seascape (Oil on canvas 24x8 inches) to take a look Munter’s painting a second time. My first visit, I did not pay careful attention to the artist’s name. On my second visit I realized I was looking at the work of one of the few females represented in the exhibit. The discovery made me smile.

Below: Seascape (Oil on canvas 24x8 inches) by Melinda Gopp

Follow Me
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page