top of page

Piano Lessons


My 91-year-old mother is a musician. She played piano and organ at our church in New Philadelphia, Ohio until Alzheimer’s disease robbed her of her abilities. Her piano remains in her living room as she sits nearby each afternoon in my brother’s care.

Mom had hopes of my two brothers, my sister, and myself becoming pianists, too. Each of us took lessons, but I much preferred to play outside. As the youngest child, I liked baseball, basketball, and riding my bike. I didn’t want to do what it takes to become a musician—practice!

When my piano teacher told my mother that lessons were a waste of money if I wouldn’t practice, that was the end of my lessons. Truth be known, I really wanted to play the drums! Mom said the drums were not an instrument for girls, so I consoled myself by playing the drums at the boy’s house across the street every time the opportunity presented itself.

Not taking advantage of what my mother was willing to give is one of those things I could kick myself for, but choose to chalk it up to being young and foolish. I have always enjoyed listening to music and especially admired my mother’s ability to play. It is no accident that I choose to listen to music as I paint. As I translate the music onto canvas, I have to wonder if Mom’s gift was passed on to me—only manifested differently. I wonder if she would be proud if she could understand my musically inspired art.

My sister came closest to accomplishing Mom’s dream for us but neither she nor my brothers have played musical instruments as adults. However, Mom has seven grandchildren, and all of them grew up playing instruments, including my son and daughter! My mom and dad helped finance their instruments and traveled every chance they could to attend the kids’ recitals. I still remember their applause and proud smiles.

I recently visited my Mom to attend her 91st birthday party. My siblings and I sang Happy Birthday and my brother helped blow out her candles. Much to our surprise, she clapped! I painted “Staccato” (pictured above) while listening to classical music,

including composers Bach and Rachmaninoff. I think Mom would clap if she saw “Staccato!”

Follow Me
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page