top of page

Name My New "Farmily"-Inspired Painting


Trading my retail job for an internship at a farm has given me the opportunity to become part of a new community fondly known as my farm family or “farmily.” Our conversations sometime turn to discussions of tastes in music. One of my farmily members recently enjoyed a vacation to Tennessee to hear a live concert by bassist Edgar Meyer. I had never heard of him, so I decided to explore his sound. I stumbled upon and purchased the album “Uncommon Ritual,” which includes two other musicians: banjoist Béla Fleck and Mike Marshall, who plays mandolin, guitar, mandocello, and violin.

The songs are bluegrass style meets classical, and I was intrigued by the titles: By the River, In the Garden, Barnyard Disturbance, and Child’s Play to name a few. I listened to my new tunes on a road trip to visit my mother. The incredibly deep sound of Edgar Meyer’s bass vibrated every inch of me as I sat behind the wheel of my car. It was art in the form of music that moved me into that inner soul space.

I listened to the music over and over and decided to paint my next work to the sounds of “Uncommon Ritual.” I translated the musician’s deep bass vibrations into rich brown tones and shades of sienna. The deep colors/tones give way to the lighter sounds of the banjo and mandolin portrayed in creamy yellows. I blended the colors of all the instruments and sounds and added shades of green to depict nature in an abstract sense.

I am still looking for a creative name for this 48x36 work! Any ideas?

Follow Me
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page