top of page

The "Name Game"


Last week I finished a painting and could not think of a title that fit. So I decided to engage my social media audience and invited them to suggest a name. After I sent out the call for help, I moved my finished painting downstairs to the living room. I leaned my work against the wall to see how the light would move across it throughout the day. This is a routine I practice that allows me to see the colors and movement come together as a whole.

My favorite place to sit while I drink my morning (and afternoon) coffee is wedged into the corner of the red conversation sofa. It has a reputation for swallowing up guests in its cushions after a lovely meal. I have been watching this painting for a week. Yesterday, I woke up at sunrise and sat down in a groggy stupor with coffee in hand to watch the light on my painting.

The natural light on my art highlighted the textures causing shadows that made the painting come alive as I sat in the stillness. I moved to the other side of the room keeping my eyes on the work for a shift in perspective. I sat and enjoyed the way the light and shadows fell and pondered its name.

I reread all the suggestions from those who participated in the “name game!” Cory Alan Brown came up with “Sedimentary Subterraneous Subtleties.” Amanda Mendez and Sari Mulholland suggested “Good Vibrations.” The low soul moving vibrations of Edgar Meyer’s bass combined with my connection to the soil at the farm sparked the final title for this piece: “Subterranean Vibrations.”

Thanks to everyone who participated! You’ve given me some great ideas for future titles. I have included close-up photos from various areas of interest in the painting. Please enjoy the texture and colors of my newly named painting!

Follow Me
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page