top of page

One More Whirl

A couple of weeks ago, I strolled through my garden to collect colors for my next painting and displayed live plants in a vase in my studio. I chose a 40x40 canvas and began with variations of sap green, intentionally recreating the woods that form a backdrop for a field of flowers at Down to Earth Farm. While the colors were drying, I contemplated my next step.

As I passed by a vase of flowers on the dining room table, several Gomphrena blossoms caught my eye. Since discovering this flower during my farm internship, I have been captivated by its beauty and color as it moves in the breeze—so much so that I have ordered seeds to plant my very own.

I set out with determination to recreate the color of this spectacular flower. I mixed and mixed and mixed to no avail. After about 12 belabored tries over the next hour and a half, I almost gave up. But instead I took a deep breath and talked myself into giving it one more whirl. Finally, there it was…before my very own eyes! I added it with pure victorious joy to my canvas. My new composition will be unveiled soon. Stay tuned!

Follow Me
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page