top of page

Engaging the Senses Through Art

Last month kicked off my first showing as the artist-in-residence for the Civic Orchestra of Jacksonville. It’s been an amazing experience to have the opportunity to express the orchestra’s rich performances through visual art. After interpreting Camille Saint-Saens’ Organ Symphony onto canvas, I thought I might jump out of my seat experiencing the live performance in St. John’s Cathedral downtown.

So many interesting people greeted me and my painting “Dialogue” after the performance, and I dove into telling my story of color selections and techniques. Shortly into the reception, I noticed an elderly man standing in front of my painting.

“Hello,” I said, and introduced myself.

“I would like to see your painting,” he replied. “But unfortunately I am visually impaired.”

The expression on his face seemed hopeless. I smiled and assured him that he could see it.

“Give me your hand,” I asked. I directed his hand over the texture and explained each aspect of the work as we explored it together. I talked about the deep tones of the pipe organ represented in indigo, shades of gray, and oxblood. The conversation included how the narrow strokes of light blues took on the identity of the orchestra. I spoke about the piano four hands component portrayed abstractly as light on water in indigo and white.

The man smiled and thanked me. But truth be known, it was an extraordinary experience I will never forget.

My next showing takes place on Sunday, December 10th after the orchestra’s 3pm performance at the Jacksonville Jewish Center. All concerts are free and open to the public. I hope to see you there!

Follow Me
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page